Gluten-Free Oyster Sauce

Is Oyster Sauce Gluten-Free?

Oyster sauce a staple ingredient in Chinese cooking, commonly used to add a rich texture and to bring out the savory umami flavor in dishes like stir fries, noodles, beef or chicken with stir fired vegetables. Its versatility and popularity in other international cuisines along with Chinese has made it an almost indispensable ingredient in the home kitchen.  But is oyster sauce gluten-free?

Oyster sauce commonly contains wheat flour as a thickener making it a big no for all of us with gluten intolerances. But we have good news – there are several varieties of gluten-free oyster sauces!

Which brands are safe?

Mili, New Moon and Ayam oyster sauces are labeled gluten free making them super safe to use.

It is important to note that oyster sauce is a common staple in Chinese and Thai cooking.  Remember to check with restaurant chefs to be sure that both soya sauce and oyster sauce are not added to your dish.  Likewise, request a clean pan to ensure any wheat residue is not left behind on the cooking surface.

Vegetarian Oyster Sauce

For all vegetarians who had been avoiding oyster sauce all this while Mili also has gluten-free vegetarian oyster sauce made out of mushrooms!

  • Mili and New Moon are available at Mustafa
  • Mili can be ordered online at glutenfreesg.com
  • Ayam can is available at Ryan’s Grocery Store (29 Binjai Park, Singapore 589831) as well as online

As always, please double check the package label to be sure you have the correct sauce and that ingredients have not changed.  

Travel Bonus:

If you are visiting Australia, look for Chang’s Original Oyster Sauce.

2017-10-17T20:04:16+00:00 September 28th, 2017|